This is a Post about Twelfth Night

So since we won’t have to do a blog entry next week, I thought I would write an extra one this week. And you know, with the play being shown and whatnot, I thought, “Yeah, I guess I could do that.”

Okay, I’m lying. I just like these plays. I would have done this even if we did have an entry next week. I know, lying is bad. I’ll go to the time out corner now, mother.

-sigh-

Well, now that my time in the corner is over, let’s continue, shall we?

So just like last time I got to watch the play twice. There were very few cast changes this time around though, and I’m guessing it had to do with that mass of people that were the actors standing in back. Which brings up my first point: characters.

Like I just mentioned, lots of people. And how could that get any worse? There are even more in the original play. But that’s okay, because all the actors managed to portray the relationships wonderfully in my opinion. They’re all speaking in that Old English-y kind of way, so it might have been hard for some people to pick up on what they were saying, thus leading to mass confusion and quite possibly a riot.

"I DON'T WANT YOUR OLD ENGLISH!"

Worry not, however, as they made up for this gap through body language. Even if you couldn’t understand a word they were saying (it’s still English, people, get it together), the actions that they portrayed made up for it. I mean, it doesn’t take a genius to realize that a few of the guys are drunk when they come swaggering onto stage, wine bottles in hand. But there were some subtle things, like dropping the ring to the floor so that Viola (disguised as a man) has to drop to the floor to get it. Obviously we can draw from this that Malvolio dislikes her/him and whatever dialogue goes along with that scene (in all honesty, I can’t remember what was said exactly), however, it’s only until later that we find out that he ALSO loves Olivia (a.k.a in love with Viola) and love webs and jealousy and whatnot.

I may sound like some kind of Language Arts response essay right about now, but it’s these kinds of details that really make me stop and appreciate the play, you know?

Yes? No? Maybe so?

I can’t tell what you’re saying, I’m not physically with you right now. Sorry.

"You're never there for me when I need you..."

Of course, the big, obvious actions are always fun.

In fact, as I walking down the hallway after my first time watching it, I heard the words, “yellow stockings” four times in four separate conversations. That’s right, this guy strutted down the stage in short shorts and bright yellow leggings so we could all laugh.

That is a sacrifice right there, people.

Yup. Take it all in.

And this just made me think of something. It’s pretty, no, really unrelated to Twelfth Night, but I think I’m going to go ahead and say it anyways because I just know I’m going to forget it later.

Like I just did…right…now…

Hang on, let me think for a second…

Errrr…it wasn’t really about plots or anything, something like…pffft…

Oh yeah, I remember now (and if you’re wondering, yes, I did have to type out my thinking process just because that’s how I do things around here).

I realize that there might be some people out there that just go, “Meh. Drama. It’s just kinda there.” And you know, I’m not going t0 tell you that you’re an awful person and should go throw yourself into the sun because that would be plain rude on my part, but you have to realize that these actors are ridiculous. In a good way.

These are the same people who have played vampires and friends and lovers in Dracula and murderers, pigs, and castaways in the wax museum. Don’t you find that amazing? I mean, I guess that’s what acting is, like taking on different roles and whatever, but still. It’s just…awesome. Like, I can’t even think of a vocabulary word about it. They can just take on all these different personas so realistically. It’s like multiple personality disorder, but in a good way.

"Hmm...too far?"

Alright, I think I’ve offended enough people for today. Over and out.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “This is a Post about Twelfth Night

  1. i always come to your blog after every school production just to read it(:
    HAHAHAHA, i laughed so hard when clark came out in those leggings…

  2. Am I the only one in fourth period who thought of Daniel while reading the part about standing in the corner? Anyone? Anyone?
    I DONT WANT YOUR OLD ENGLISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. DUDE SERIOUSLYY i come read your blogs once in a while when I feel like it HAHA its so fun! 😀 HEHE

Leave a Reply

