This is a Post about Relating

I cannot relate with Brent from Whirligig.

I have never tried to be “cool” by crashing a party.

I have never felt pressured by my peers to attend a party that involved underage drinking.

I have never gone to said party with my peers.

I have never been involved with the drinking of alcohol.

I have never went on to feel regret about my past decisions to go to the party.

I cannot relate with Melinda from Speak.

I have never tried to be “cool” by crashing a party.

I have never felt pressured by my peers to attend a party that involved underage drinking.

I have never gone to said party with my peers.

I have never been involved with the drinking of alcohol.

I have never went on to feel regret about my past decisions to go to the party.

Whoa man! Pause that movie!

Brent and Melinda are both teenagers that got into a bad situation after drinking alcohol! HOW ABOUT THAT SHIZ?

Alcohol : the one true weakness of nearly every young adult novel's protagonist

So yeah. I really don’t relate to them whatsoever.

One thing I’ve noticed, what is it with these teens always wanting to be “cool”?

Is that honestly what these authors think of us? I mean really, we’re not all five year olds who play follow the leader every waking moment of the day. I mean sure, there will always be some people who fit this stereotype perfectly, but I’ve never met anyone that would be willing to undergo illegal activities just to be “cool”. Come on, authors. Give us some more credit.

Really, when’s the last time your friend turned to you and was like, “Let’s go to a crazy party and get stinkin’ drunk behind our parents backs. Why? Oh, because there’s a cool kid there and I wanna be COOOOOOOL.” and you ACTUALLY AGREED.

Well, probably never. It would be weird if your friend quoted me word for word on that. BUT STILL. The message stands. Does anyone actually sit there and desire to be like someone else in hopes that you’ll be “cool”? Even if you do want to be accepted or whatever, what makes you think it’s a good idea to be a leech and suck it off of someone else? Go find out your own way to do it or something.

Like walking into the freezer. ...ba dum tsh.

So that was me ranting because I can’t really say anything about the topic.

BY THE WAY.

If you didn’t go to theater sports last week, I feel bad for you.

Fun times were had by all.

No review because…it’s…theater sports…

So I’m done now.

Kay.

Bye. -bails-

 

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “This is a Post about Relating

  1. Yeah! They both drank alcohol and made severely large mistakes that impacted their lives. I never really thought about that. Wow. Nice point.

  2. meredithkeisler

    Very interesting post! I agree theater sports was AWESOME! (:

  3. …That’s actually a very good point about the alcohol XD

  4. I’m jealous of your chicken sandwich.
    What? Am I the only one who reads the tags??

  5. Nice point about the alcohol!

  6. I completely agree, haha, great blog! Authors, they always think of teenagers as crazy, alcohol loving people, SMH.

  7. Alcohol is never the answer!! nice blog post, it was very funny. 🙂

Leave a Reply

