This is a Post about Skyward Sword

Crap.

Crap crap.

CRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAP.

Did you just see that? That was my crap rap. I only use it when I’ve done something really stupid, like…oh, I don’t know…

COMPLETELY FORGET TO POST A BLOG ENTRY.

Whyyyy...

UGH. So I’m doing last weeks entry, even though technically I don’t have to.

Also, technically I’m supposed to be discussing a book or movie that follows the hero-story structure, but I’m not doing either of those. Nope, I’m going with a videogame. Why? Because I can.

So I’m going to go with one of my favorite videogames that I completed not too long ago (so I still remember most of it) and it’s a little thing I like to call…

Legend of Zelda : Skyward Sword

Feast your eyes in the presence of its glory.

Okay, so I’m going to go ahead and assume that the reaction to seeing that title was either, “YEAAAAAAH SKYWARD SWORD”, “Eugh, I hate videogames and this stupid Zelda stuff”, “I’ve heard of this I think”, or “wat iz videogaym?”

If you are the second choice, stop reading because that’s all I’m going to be talking about, which I’m assuming you’ve already realized by reading the extremely obvious title.

If you are the last choice, please get off the internet. Thank you.

ANYWAYS, I’m not entirely sure that Skyward Sword fits all the requirements simply because I beat the whole game a couple months back and I’m too lazy to go through like 20 hours of gameplay just to see if everything matches. However, if memory serves correct, it fits the guidelines just fine.

But enough of the chitchat, leeeet’s start!

NOTE: I’m only going to cover a few points that don’t ruin the entire flagibbin plot for everyone so yeah.

LE CALL TO ADVENTURE/CHASING THE LONE ANIMAL TO THE WOODS

Meet Fi.

That is Fi. It is genderless. Also, it leads you out of bed in the middle of the night to call you to your destiny in the middle of the night, because that’s what Fi does.

So you get up and it’s freaking dark out and suddenly BAM. There’s this floating blue…thing. And for some reason, it keeps calling your name. Of course, this being a videogame, you have no protests about following a random stranger around town in the middle of the night when there’s no one around to help you.

Everytime you get close, stranger danger over here floats back a little, and then you approach again and it backs up again, thus leading you on a crazy chase throughout Skyloft (a.k.a your home island place thing yeah okay) until you end up in this temple thing where you learn you are the destined hero. Oh yeah, did I mention there are these cute little cat things that roam around town that turn into malicious blood sucking creatures when it gets dark out? Because there are.

It’s not important or anything, they just scared me the first time I saw them.

Good luck with that.

Oh my goodness! It’s like…Fi is calling you out! To…to go on…an adventure! A call to adventure?

And suddenly, bada bing bada boom, you’re out on the streets with your sword fighting off monsters.

LE ANIMAL FAMILIAR/HOME CULTURE

Hey, remember that Skyloft place I was talking about? Yeah. It’s where you were born in raised. Sounds almost like…

A HOME CULTURE GAAAASP.

There's no place like your floating sky island...thing...

So that’s the home culture but alas! What are those bird like creatures flying about in the sky?!

Fear not, for I shall tell you!

The people of Skyloft travel around on these huge bird things called Loftwings that sometimes resemble their owners. Also, everyone gets one at some point in their lives, so there’s no such thing as that one loser who doesn’t have a huge freaking bird to ride around on. Sorry kids.

Anyways, Link’s companion is called a Crimson Loftwing, because it’s a Loftwing. And red.

It’s also very rare, and was thought to be extinct before Link received one. Apparently, they bonded the moment they saw each other and Link would be stuck with no progress in his journey forever without it.

WAITAMINUTE.

Hero, meet animal familiar. Animal familiar, meet hero.

Whoaaa, how crazy.

So that’s all I can say for now. Go play the game if you want to know more.

…punk.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “This is a Post about Skyward Sword

  1. meredithkeisler

    OH MY GOODNESS! You just wrote a blog post about Zelda! Mind=blown! Admiration for Marri just went up! Way up! I salute you!

Leave a Reply

