This is a Post about the Drama Department

Right.

Here we are.

End of the school year.

No more school plays for an entire summer.

Crap.

Siiiiigh…

Those of you who have read this blog before probably know that I really enjoy reviewing the school plays, and I thought I would slip in a final one before I stop updating this place. The only problem being that there really is no final school performance or anything, so I just decided I would have to review the entire freaking drama department. Don’t think I can do it? HA HA HA – yeah I don’t think I can either, but I sure as heck can try.

WARNING: This next section may be extremely cheesy. Proceed with caution.

So to start off this whole little rant, I’m just going to start off with the fact that I honestly appreciate everything that goes into making a play.

Really, I do.

It’s more than just the actors, or just the tech crew, or just the directors; it’s everything together.

Theatre seems like a very delicate thing to me. Not enough light? Can’t see anything. Too much? Great job, you ruined the atmosphere. Have to act out your lines with just the right amount of emotion and can’t let things get too out of hand or everything ends up sounding ridiculous. Get to your spot at this time, get here on this cue. It’s especially evident in things like the yearly musical where it’s almost like you can feel all the effort put into it with every passing second, kind of like when you can feel a heart attack coming on whenever you eat a greasy burger.

And yes, that analogy was entirely necessary.

But it’s all worth it in the end because the final result is amazing. Just…next time you’re in the theatre, stop and take a moment to look around. Nearly everyone shares the same emotions at the same time, and you can really see that in their faces. Maybe it’s everyone laughing at a funny joke, or the entire room getting dead quiet at a serious part, but everyone’s fixated on the stage waiting for the next scene to play out. For lack of a better adjective, it’s just…cool.

This is only my first year actually finding out about this whole drama stuff, but I still feel like this whole year has been really memorable. I mean, I can still remember specific lines from wax museum and still getting songs from Little Shop of Horrors stuck in my head during the most inconvenient times.

Little shop, little shop of horrors, bop sh’bop…

So to everyone who has ever been involved in a drama production, you’re awesome. No matter how minor that part was, you’re still awesome.

If anyone tries to tell you otherwise, you look them straight in the eyes and you tell them, “Some person on the internet told me I was awesome because I’m in the drama department, so obviously it must be true.”And then you can walk away with your head held high because it is true…at least, to me it is.

Thanks for all your hard work!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

